Mothers of Television and Hollywood: Where I Find Most of My Inspiration

Yes, we have established that I am a nerd. A large portion of my nerdiness is solely devoted to television. Thus, when thinking about the type of mom I hope to be one day, much of my inspiration has come from television or movies. So I thought I would collect my favorites into one article. Without further ado, here are my top 5 Moms of TV.

Lorelai Gilmore

“Gilmore Girls”

340fd269cecc082abf0af30c37eeb8ea

8ddd265e8063b1ccaa61b47335b0230f

b5727731c54648ee6e219a2943ec8a04

fbff65bfe5dbe87cc2cb364f8ba3695c

gilmore girls

Is this a surprise to anyone? Lorelai Victoria Gilmore is absolutely my number one TV mom. Not only did she raise her daughter to believe in herself and support her every step of the way – even during the married-Dean-and-stupid-Rory moment or that dark time in season 6 that we won’t talk about – but she did it with flair and crazy amounts of love. This show is obviously my favorite, but I think Lorelai would have made the list even if it weren’t. She’s the perfect example of a tv mom. I cannot begin to list all of the many, many, many scenes in which she proved what an insane and perfect mother she was. Although Rory’s first break up with Dean, Rory’s first night at Yale, Rory’s struggle through her junior year of university, and their reunion scene come to mind. Lorelai’s ambitious work attitude, witty repertoire, fabulous love of fashion and never-ending love for her child have encouraged many single and married moms alike for over a decade now. The day this show ended was a very sad day indeed. But Lorelai Gilmore’s motherly inspiration will live forever. (And hopefully be manifested again in a movie!) She is exactly what I hope to be to my baby come February 2015 (except I will have an amazing and supportive husband to help me through the long nights and endless screams I am anxiously awaiting.) I love Lorelai Gilmore and soon you’ll see how much.

Haley James Scott

“One Tree Hill”

675a2a2bfb828e28b610ff713650faf6

4af02d9ab4af2e2b7187d4d2e9463a73

e3a9cb712c154d0cae43548028ae23b6

8b69b3f7a4806300596241ad93909ace

Oh, how I love Haley James Scott. She is intelligent, funny, passionate, kind, and an all-around fantastic mom! If you’ve watched the show, you will not soon forget the almost too-adorable scenes between Haley and Jamie. She was a young first-time mom that learned and matured with her husband. She always fought for her family, never giving up on their bond despite Nathan’s horrible accident or her severe depression. Haley survived it all and just when everything was perfect, she had another adorable baby – a little girl this time – giving us a glimpse of what pregnant Haley is like: silly, emotional, and oh so cute.

Molly Weasley

“Harry Potter”

1262804a1a164cf0058837ac5e295080

5443de8e316cec8a2b7bbe556805acfe

712383ad48c04b0973b37503b67f45f2

There should never be a list of inspirational fictional moms without Molly Weasley. The woman had seven children for heaven’s sake – six of those children being boys! She kept her full house orderly, clean and running smoothly. But none of those traits make her the wonderful mother she inspires in me. No, that would be her devotion to her husband and children, her fierce love and the scene when she killed Bellatrix Lestrange. If you’re being honest with yourself, then you will admit that that scene is one of the best mom scenes of all time. I wish I could quote the infamous line, but I’ll restrain myself. Every reader (and film watcher) will remember the pain they felt for her when she lost Fred and the reverence for Molly when she comforted her family through her own grief. Yes, Molly Weasley is amazing.

Charlotte York

“Sex and the City”

Screen-shot-2010-11-13-at-3.00.49-AM

charlotte-and-harry

charlotte-york

Charlotte Pregnant in Sex and The City Movie

charlotte-york-mom

This TV mom spoke directly to my infertile heart throughout the show. We watched as she searched for her perfect Prince Charming – and eventually found him in Harry. I was so happy as she began her life with Harry, her imperfect Mr. Perfect. He was awesome and I couldn’t wait to see them have a baby because surely the writers were going to write a baby into the show for this sweet on-screen couple. But I will never forget the episode after her miscarriage, when she bravely got dressed, inspired by Elizabeth Taylor, and walked out of her apartment in the large frame sunglasses to attend her best friend’s son’s birthday party. And then she did find her happily-ever-after with Harry when they adopted Lily and later had their miracle, Rose. And one more reason I loved Charlotte York was her very real struggle as a mom with two young girls and trying to be perfect. When she locked herself in the pantry to hide for just a moment from her life. I think that hit the nail on the head for many moms and encouraged me to remember that it’s okay to not be perfect and to never give up.

Fran Drescher

“The Nanny”

The-Nanny-the-nanny-33156016-1024-768

rbk-stylish-tv-characters-the-nanny-lgn

Although she was not technically their mother but their nanny, Fran raised Mr. Sheffield’s three children – and they adored her. Who wouldn’t love a nanny/mom that is just crazy enough to teach you what you need to know plus a little more for good measure? The lessons Fran taught are not necessarily the lessons I hope to teach my children or in her manner either. But the way she loved her children, fought for them and all of this with such style – that I hope to imitate soon. Don’t get me wrong – I just loved how crazy she was! When Fran finally started dating Mr. Sheffield, everything fell into place. They dealt with miscarriage together and then when they got pregnant, what a journey it was to watch! So much leopard print!

Leave a Reply

